Let's go back to a point of the rules that is sometimes debated on the ground: you and the net. Are you allowed to touch? In which circumstances ?

Not allowed BUT...

When you play padel you are not allowed to touch the net, either with the racket or the body. On this point, the players generally agree. The question that may arise then is whether or not a player has touched the net with his foot, for example, without realizing it. And it is sometimes also the source of discord between the pairs. It's not easy, and in general, when there is no referee to decide, we give two balls.

However, you will see that there is a big BUT and not least: the top of the net post is not the net. And therefore, you have every right to hold on to it if you wish!

The top of the post is not the net!

In a large majority of cases this rule is not applied in tournaments of padel while the FIP (International Federation of Padel) is very clear on this point.

The top of the post is not the net. Beyond 0,92cm in reality, we have every right to rely on it, but only if outdoor play is allowed  " In the event that it is possible to leave the field, the top of the net post (above 0,92m) is then considered a neutral zone and can be touched and grabbed. (Translation by Romain Taupin – Padelonomics)”

area allowed to grip padelonomics

So you can touch it and even take it in your hands.


Franck Binisti

Franck Binisti discovers the padel at the Club des Pyramides in 2009 in the Paris region. Since padel is part of his life. You often see him touring France going to cover the major events of padel French.