Continuing our series of articles on arbitration at padel, this time we approach the 11th theme of the document of the French Tennis Federation (FFT): the Let.

What is a LET during the exchange?

It is the fact of having to completely replay a point following certain situations.

What are the situations that can lead to a let during a rally?

  • The ball bursts during a rally.
  • An element external to the game invades the playing surface during a rally. 
  • There is an unforeseen situation that interrupts the game.

What is a LET service?

It is the fact of having to replay the service ball in question (1st or 2nd ball).

A second service ball is declared a let. Decision ?

Only the second ball is to be replayed.

What situations can result in a LET service?

– When, after touching the net, the net post (including its possible protection) or the boards:

  • the ball falls in the correct service box then makes a second bounce on the ground or on a window.
  • the ball lands in the correct service square and then hits the receiver (or his partner), or his equipment.
  • the ball directly touches the receiver (or his partner), or his equipment.
  • if out-of-court play is allowed, the ball lands in the correct service box and then goes through the gate opening.

– When the server served while the receiver (or his partner) was not ready.

A player considers that a situation resulting in a let has occurred during a rally, stops play and calls the Referee. Decision ?

– Either the Referee validates the LET.

– If, on the other hand, the Referee considers that there was no reason to interrupt the course of the game, the pair of the player who stopped will have a point lost.

A server misses his first serve, then an unforeseen situation justifying a LET interrupts the performance of the second serve. Decision ?

LET, 1st service to be replayed.

An unforeseen situation justifying a LET interrupts a point following a second service made by the server. Decision ?

LET, 1st service to be replayed.

An unforeseen situation justifying a LET interrupts a point between the 2 services and before the server begins his gesture of second service. Decision ?

Second service to play because the player was not hindered during the course of the service.

A spectator yells "fault" during the rally. Decision ?

As a general rule, there is no need to announce a let. If, however, the Referee considers that the 2 pairs were hindered, that this hindrance had an influence on the course of the exchange and that no pair can be harmed by this announcement, he can pronounce a let.

Should an unintentional double in the key lead to a let?

No, the pair of the player who involuntarily doubled loses the point.

During the rally, a player realizes that he has served from the wrong half of the court and stops the ball with his hand. He calls for a let. Decision ?

That player's pair loses the point. The next point will be served according to the score.

During a rally, a ball falls out of a player's pocket. Decision ?

– The first time, the referee announces a let and warns the player that his pair will lose the point the following times.

– The second time and the following times, the pair of the player loses the point.

Note: This rule applies if the player drops his cap, bandana or any object belonging to him while the point continues.

Player A (pair A/B) serves a first service ball which falls into the net. It gets stuck in one of the meshes of the net. A serves his second ball without removing the first, and during the rally that follows, a ball hits the net and knocks out the ball that was stuck there. This one rolls slightly in the terrain of the A/B pair. Decision ? 

A let may be announced, unless this decision obviously hurts one of the pairs or if the ball is already out of play.

A foreign object appears on the field during the exchange, the players continue the exchange. At the end of the point, the pair that lost the point claim a let because they claim to have been hampered. Decision ?

The point played remains acquired.

Player A goes up on the volley, a ball falls out of his pocket. Surprised, he stops playing and demands to replay the point. Decision ?

The player's pair loses the point. Indeed, the player cannot claim a let insofar as he has hindered himself.

A spectator shouts as a player prepares to spike. The player misses his spike, then claims a let. Decision ?

The point does not have to be replayed, the player having tried to win it despite the external hindrance.

Player A of pair A/B hits a spike. Shortly after, a ball hits the field. A's smash hits the grid directly on the side of the C/D pair, their opponents. Decision ?

Dot for the C/D pair.

Who is responsible for LET announcements to the service?

Each pair can announce a let, whether serving or raising.

thomas jay

After being rocked by tennis for nearly 15 years, I became an absolute fan of its cousin, the padel. For nearly a year now, I've been chasing the little yellow ball with another racquet, but with just as much passion! Based in Lyon, I intend to make you better acquainted with the padel in the region and at the national level.