Are you tired of being embarrassed during your games but you don't know how to react? We explain everything to you in our file on arbitration at padel.

The theme of the day, you have understood it: embarrassment.

There are two types of discomfort that can be caused by players. Which ones?

  • Intentional embarrassment.
  • Unintentional discomfort.

What is the consequence of intentional interference?

If the hindrance is voluntary, the point will be given to the opposing pair.

What is the consequence of unintentional discomfort?

If the hindrance is judged to be involuntary, the point will be replayed, flight.

Away play is allowed, following a smash by A (pair A/B), which goes over the side wall, player C (pair C/D) goes out but B gets in the way of his road. Decision ?

It's a voluntary embarrassment, the A/B pair loses the point.

When A is about to smash, one of his opponents waves his arms to disturb him. A stops. Decision ?

Player A's pair wins the point.

When A is about to smash, one of his opponents waves his arms to disturb him. A attempts to spike and fouls. Decision ?

Player A's pair loses the point because he cannot pretend to be embarrassed when he tried to make the move.

A smash from A (pair A/B) hits the opponent's ground, the back window and returns to his camp. C (pair C/D) rushes to the net to play the ball. B who is at the net does not move and places his racket in front of him to protect himself. C cannot play the ball because he is hindered by B. Decision?

The discomfort is not voluntary, the point is to be replayed (LET).

A/B pair versus C/D pair. Hit a volley that he considers a winner and yells “go”. C just manages to touch the ball, without trying to return it and pretends to be embarrassed. Decision ?

Point for the C/D pair because A performed a hindrance before the end of the point. 

A player says he is embarrassed by one of his opponents who squeals while hitting the ball. Decision ?

No fault a priori, but the decision is left to the discretion of the referee, supervisor, who, if he considers that there has been actual interference, can pronounce a LET or count a point lost to the pair of the player who shouted if he thinks it was intentional.

A player who had the possibility of making a winning shot returns only an easy ball, and then shouts: "It sucks". His adversaries, surprised, do not play the ball. Decision ?

The pair of the player who shouted during the rally loses the point.

A player announces "fault" because he thinks that the ball has directly touched a window and immediately realizes that he was mistaken. Decision ?

This is considered intentional interference, so that player's pair loses the point.

Before the start of a rally, can player A (pair A/B) ask his opponents (pair C/D) to discard a ball on the court on their side of the net?

Yes, but C/D are not required to do so.

What happens if the ball is not discarded and a player of the pair C/D touches it?

  • If during the rally C or D involuntarily touches the ball then the point will be replayed the first time (and lost the following times).
  • If during the rally C or D voluntarily dismisses it then the point will be lost by C/D (voluntary hindrance).
thomas jay

After being rocked by tennis for nearly 15 years, I became an absolute fan of its cousin, the padel. For nearly a year now, I've been chasing the little yellow ball with another racquet, but with just as much passion! Based in Lyon, I intend to make you better acquainted with the padel in the region and at the national level.